top of page

Cement bag lamp skin a.k.a Shai

I have had this idea for a while. My country has been very creative with cement bags over the years. And it was during this hype I thought up this design. This was my first try at making a proper frame let alone a lamp. I decided to use Styrofoam frame for all the lamps as I wanted it to be light.

I don't really know why I wanted to make a lamp skin but it feels appropriate. I began making this by sewing the cement bag but this proved very difficult as I could not buy larger needles which can sew through this material properly. I had to use normal thread and needle and I was dissatisfied with its finishing. After which I began to used synthetic resin adhesive to glue the parts instead of sewing it. I managed to finish the lamp but for the next model I will be using the large spool and needle. While I was in the middle of finishing this, I had begun to wonder if I am not wrong in my idea, the idea of cement bag for lamp. But once it was finished and I had put a bulb inside it, I was completely surprised. It gives a beautiful aura and makes the whole space feel ambient instantly.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page