top of page

Kimono


I have always loved kimonos and wanted to own one very badly. I made this on an impulse, the design is completely made up.

The reason this project took kindly to me was due to the fact that I used Thai sarong which is made of sturdy cotton and was easy to sew. I see these kind of kimonos more often in the shops nowadays. But when I made my kimono, it was quite an outlandish idea. Sarongs are integral part of my life as my mother, grandmother and aunties have always worn sarongs as a part of our tradition. So, we always have sarongs in our closets.

This project became very precious to me as it made me able to give a new life to an old tradition and I was able to wear a kimono. (Yes, this is among one of the first few pieces of clothing that I sewed, in my life.)

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page